You Had Me at Hola

Out Now!

“An absolutely pitch-perfect summer escape.” 
New York Times Editor’s Choice

“A triumph of Latinx joy and feminist agency.” 
NPR 

You Had Me At Hola cover

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez.

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

New York Times Editor’s Choice/Staff Pick
Target Diverse Book Club Pick for August 2020
Amazon Best Books of the Month for August 2020
Indie Next Great Reads List for August 2020
Library Reads Top Pick for August 2020


You Had Me at Hola is also available as an audiobook!

Audible Editor’s Pick

You Had Me at Hola audiobook cover

A rom-com with sabor Latino! Okay, I’m not really a romance kind of guy, but when I hear the word telenovela my ears automatically perk up! That’s because I was reared on them and like them. A lot! Spanish-language soaps, or telenovelas, have evolved from cheesy, low-budget productions to lavish multimillion-dollar franchises that often go on to be remade as successful American TV shows such as Ugly Betty and Jane the Virgin. Alexis Daria’s, You Had Me at Hola, is exactly what I was expecting—a laugh-out-loud, rom-com set amid the production of a newly greenlit novela. A spilled cup of coffee leads to a romantic chance meeting between the two main stars. And yes, sparks immediately fly. Seraphine Valentine’s narration is spot-on with the Borinquen-inspired lingo delivered with perfect comic timing. If you liked the Americanized versions of the telenovelas I mentioned, you’ll surely enjoy the Latin flavor of You Had Me at Hola.
Edwin D., Audible Editor


Reviews

“I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine—her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn’t want the book to end!”

Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author

“Between exploring classic rom-com tropes and themes on representation in the Latinx community, Daria’s book makes for that perfect summer romance.”

The Hollywood Reporter

“Sexy, compelling, and complex—a terrific romance from a rising star of the genre.”

Kirkus

“There’s a defiant joy in these pages: a proud proclamation of not only finding, but celebrating your voice and honoring the rare spaces that welcome that. You Had Me at Hola is just such a space – a vibrant, bold jolt of romantic electricity.”

Entertainment Weekly

“You Had Me at Hola is a multi-layered sexy, poignant, and fun story set against the glamorous and dramatic world of telenovelas. Filled with lovable characters, relatable family dynamics and the nuances of identity, Alexis Daria’s novel is full of heart. Romance readers will fall head over heels!”

Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author

“Soapy, smart and so sexy…with vibrant characters and electric chemistry comparable to the telenovelas that inspired it, you’ll be thrilled You Had Me At Hola doesn’t come with commercials!”

Sarah MacLean, New York Times bestselling author

“Daria breathes effortless life into a cast of messy, loving, talented, and downright hilarious characters readers will adore. A sense of Latinx culture and pride exudes from every page, elevating an already entertaining story. Romance fans won’t want to miss this.”

Publishers Weekly

RITA Award-winning Daria has created extremely smart and appealing characters, and the scenes of their shooting the show are delicious fun. Fans of Susan Elizabeth Philips will enjoy the humor and chemistry Daria whips up.

Booklist, Amy Alessio

“Clever, heartfelt, and five fire-emojis sexy, You Had Me at Hola is a must-read! Daria excels at the craft of writing larger-than-life characters with believable fears and relatable desires; the result is a captivating romance that readers won’t soon forget.”

Mia Sosa, USA Today bestselling author

“Laugh out loud funny and heart-meltingly genuine, YOU HAD ME AT HOLA delivers a couple you can’t help but root for and a happily ever after to believe in.”

Tracey Livesay, award-winning author

“From the beginning to “El Fin”, Daria’s Hola pulls readers into a vibrant world where our beloved Latinx culture thrives and charming, charismatic characters woo you…once again she’s penned a show-stopper novel that leaves you breathless and craving more.”

Priscilla Oliveras, USA Today bestselling author

“Like a delicious slow burn, this love story happens in the best way–despacito!”

Zoraida Córdova, award-winning author of Labyrinth Lost

“Alexis writes our people like I’ve always wanted to see them in romance. You Had Me at Hola is full of joyful, swoony moments that will have you rooting for Jasmine and Ashton’s HEA.”

Adriana Herrera, award-winning author of American Love Story

“You Had Me at Hola is a gorgeous escape, a book you think ‘just one more chapter’ to yourself and then before you know it, you’ve devoured the entire thing! Hot, joyful, and real, Hola is packed with unforgettable leads, celebrity fun, and swoons upon swoons (upon swoons!!)”

Sierra Simone, USA Today bestselling author

“I couldn’t help but fall in love with this book.”

Natalia Sylvester, author of Everyone Knows You Go Home and Running

“A sharp, sexy delight, You Had Me at Hola gives the telenovela premise–– and Latinx leads––all the nuance and heart they deserve.”

Nina Moreno, author of Don’t Date Rosa Santos

“A perfect escapist read about real-world falling in love.”

Angelina M. Lopez, author of Lush Money

“A funny, swoony page-turner topped with all the drama of a telenovela. Rom-com at its finest!”

Valerie Tejeda, author and journalist

About the Author

Alexis Daria author photo

Alexis Daria is a native New Yorker and award-winning author writing stories about successful Latinx characters and their (occasionally messy) familias. Her debut Take the Lead won the 2018 RITA® Award for “Best First Book” and was one of the “Best Romance Novels of 2017” in The Washington Post and Entertainment Weekly. Her super powers include spotting celebrities in NYC, winning Broadway ticket lotteries, and live-tweeting.


Stay Connected