Take the Lead

Coming February 14, 2023…
A new edition of Take the Lead with a new cover, updated text, and bonus materials!

One of the Best Romances of 2017
Entertainment Weekly and The Washington Post

2018 RITA® Award Winner for Best First Book

“Believable, emotional, and hot—everything you want from a story about dance partners!”

—Jasmine Guillory, author of The ProposalOprah Magazine

⭐ “Daria does a fantastic job…this whirlwind romance scores a 10 out of 10.”

—Publishers Weekly Starred Review

“A sparkling debut.”

Entertainment Weekly

“Vibrantly written.”

The Washington Post

From Alexis Daria, author of the critically acclaimed, international bestseller You Had Me at Hola, comes a fun, sexy romance set against a reality dance show.

Gina Morales wants to make it big. In her four seasons on The Dance Off, she’s never even made it to the finals. But her latest partner, the sexy star of an Alaskan wilderness show, could be her chance. Who knew the strong, silent, survivalist-type had moves like that? She thinks Stone Nielson is her ticket to win it all—until her producer makes it clear they’re being set up for a showmance.

Joining a celebrity dance competition is the last thing Stone wants. However, he’ll endure anything to help his family, even as he fears revealing their secrets. While the fast pace of Los Angeles makes him long for the peace and privacy of home, he can’t hide his growing attraction for his dance partner. Neither wants to fake a romance for the cameras, but the explosive chemistry that flares between them is undeniable.

As Stone and Gina heat up the dance floor, the tabloids catch on to their developing romance. With the spotlight threatening to ruin everything, will they choose fame and fortune, or let love take the lead?


What the Hex

A Paranormal Rom-Com Novella

What the Hex cover

“A delightful read that is sure to enchant readers!”

Zoraida Córdova, award-winning author of The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina

“Sweet, sexy, and a little spooky, What the Hex by Alexis Daria is wicked fun. The amount of humor, hijinx, and heat packed into these pages is nothing short of magical.”

Melonie Johnson, USA Today bestselling author

“A magical romance that reminds us real love gives the confidence to be our best selves.”

Kari Cole, author of Hunt the Moon

The Addams Family meets Miami in this short and steamy witchy rom-com from international bestselling author Alexis Daria. Perfect for fans of Erin Stirling and Juliette Cross!

Welcome to Isla Bruja, a secret magical enclave and home to the richest and most powerful Latinx witch families.

When Catalina Cartagena returns home for her older sister’s wedding, she’s shocked to discover that her soon-to-be brother in law is possessed by a demon. To make matters worse, everyone else seems to be under the demon’s spell—except for Diego Paz, younger brother of the groom and Cat’s childhood rival.

With only three days until the wedding, Cat must join forces with her sexy nemesis to break the spell and defeat the demon. If they fail, demonic forces will control two of the most powerful witch families on Isla Bruja.

There’s only one bed at the magical B&B, and it’s time for these witches to get wicked…in more ways than one.

Print edition also includes a bonus short witchy story from Alexis Daria!

What the Hex audiobook is included in the Audible Plus program.


You Had Me at Hola (Primas of Power #1)

International Bestseller

You Had Me at Hola cover

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

⭐ “Sexy, compelling, and complex—a terrific romance from a rising star of the genre.”

Kirkus Starred Review

“A triumph of Latinx joy and feminist agency.”

NPR

“An absolutely pitch-perfect summer escape.”

New York Times, Editor’s Choice
  • New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • Kirkus Best Books of 2020
  • Amazon Best Romances of 2020
  • Oprah Magazine Best Romances of 2020
  • Buzzfeed Best Romances of 2020
  • Bustle Best Romances of 2020
  • Kobo Best Romances of 2020
  • Fated Mates Best of 2020
  • Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist 2020
  • Good Sex Award for Best Sexy Talk
  • Ripped Bodice Award Winner for Excellence in Romantic Fiction 2020
  • Target Diverse Book Club Pick for August 2020
  • Amazon Best Books of the Month for August 2020
  • Indie Next Great Reads List for August 2020
  • Library Reads Top Pick for August 2020
  • Audible Editor’s Pick

A Lot Like Adiós (Primas of Power #2)

Publishers Weekly Best Romances of 2021
Kirkus Best Romances of 2021
New York Public Library Best Books for Adults 2021
NPR Books We Love 2021

A Lot Like Adios book cover

The national bestselling author of You Had Me at Hola returns with a seductive second-chance romance about a commitment-phobic Latina and her childhood best friend who has finally returned home.

“A charming, sexy spitfire of a novel!” 

Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation

⭐ “A surefire hit.” 

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

⭐ “The best yet by rising romance star Daria.” 

Booklist Starred Review

⭐ “A sexy, satisfying romance.” 

Kirkus Starred Review

⭐ “Sparkling and steamy…a must-read for those who love contemporary queer, family-focused romances.” 

Library Journal Starred Review
  • 4 starred reviews (Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Booklist)
  • Indie Next Pick for October 2021
  • Amazon Best Books of September 2021
  • Apple Best Books of September 2021
  • Kobo Best Books of September 2021
  • Book Riot Best Books of 2021

Click here for details about where to find signed copies!


Amor Actually: A Holiday Romance Anthology

Amor Actually cover

“It’s almost too cozy and delectable for words…perfect mood reading for a stressful holiday season.”

New York Times, Editor’s Choice

“Don’t miss this sterling reminder that Christmas (and love, actually) is all around us.”

Entertainment Weekly, Best Holiday Romances of 2021

“Each story is certain to leave you with a smile on your face.”

Buzzfeed, Best Books of December 2021

Nochebuena. One party. Nine Happily Ever Afters.

It’s Christmas Eve in New York City and anything is possible. For these couples, it’s the season to find true love. From second-chances, big leaps, missed connections, and reconnections, this charming collection celebrates the spirit of the holidays and delivers nine perfect HEAs. 

From seven acclaimed and bestselling Latina authors—Zoey Castile, Alexis Daria, Adriana Herrera, Diana Muñoz Stewart, Priscilla Oliveras, Sabrina Sol, and Mia Sosa—comes a holiday romance anthology that will warm your heart.


About the Author

Alexis Daria author photo

Alexis Daria is an award-winning and bestselling romance author. Her debut novel, Take the Lead, was a RITA Award winner for Best First Book, and You Had Me at Hola, the first book in her Primas of Power series, is an international bestseller. Alexis’s books have been featured on several “Best of” lists from outlets like Oprah Magazine, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Buzzfeed, and the Washington Post, and have received starred reviews from trade publications like Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, and Library Journal. A former visual artist, Alexis is a lifelong New Yorker who loves Broadway musicals and pizza.


Stay Connected